UOW College Scholarship

Applications are now open. Kick start your career in 2022!

Each year our education partner UOW College Australia awards a scholarship to a player, administrator or volunteer, affiliated with the Illawarra Rugby League Competition, to study an eligible UOW College Australia program with a view to encourage and assist Scholarship recipient(s) to achieve their educational goals.

Applications open in June each year and are awarded in September. The successful candidate/s then undertake their chosen course of study in the following academic year.

How To Apply

1. Download and complete the UOWCA Scholarship Application form in full

Application Form [Download]

2. Complete application form and associated attachments must be submitted via email to: info@steelers.com.au

Please attach supporting evidence in one file. Multimedia applications are encouraged.

Applications close 31 July 2021.

Terms and Conditions [Download]

Scholarship Assessment and Selection Process

  • All Scholarship applications are reviewed and assessed by a panel of UOW College Australia and Illawarra Rugby League representatives.
  • Applicants who meet the eligibility criteria will be invited to attend an interview. Applicants must be available to attend this interview. Applicants who are unable to, or do not, attend the scheduled interview will no longer be considered for the award of the Scholarship.
  • Applicants will be notified of the outcome of their Scholarship application in writing following the announcement of the Scholarship recipient.

About the Scholarship

Scholarship: One (1) scholarship up to the Scholarship Value will be awarded to a scholarship recipient*.

Scholarship Value: Up to a maximum value of $10,000.00 (in course fees only, no cash payment to scholarship recipient)

Eligible Courses: All UOW College Australia programs except English language courses are eligible for the Scholarship. For a full list of UOW College Australia courses, please visit the UOW College Australia website here

General Eligibility Criteria

  • Must be a registered player or volunteer of the Illawarra Rugby League competition; and,
  • Must be minimum 16 years old; and,
  • Successfully demonstrate why you would like to receive this Scholarship and explain how the course will be used to advance your studies and/or career in the future.

The Scholarship is applicable at all UOW campuses where UOW College Australia courses are offered

Sponsorship Categories and additional criteria:

One (1) applicant only will be chosen from all nominations received in the following categories: Humanitarian, Sporting Excellence, Volunteer.

Applicants are required to satisfy additional criteria depending on the applicable sponsorship category, as follows:

Humanitarian criteria:

  • In receipt of Centrelink assistance or demonstrating financial hardship; or,
  • Disrupted schooling; or,
  • Home and environment responsibilities; or,
  • English language difficulty; or,
  • Personal illness/disability.

Sporting Excellence:

  • Evidence of previous sporting success.


  • Demonstrate involvement in rugby league at club level

*Scholarship recipients who are eligible for a NSW Government Smart and Skilled funded full fee exemption will be required to access this funding in lieu of a UOW College Australia and Illawarra Rugby League Scholarship. Scholarship recipients who are eligible for a NSW Government Smart and Skilled funded partial subsidy are required to access this funding; the Scholarship will cover any remaining student contribution to the maximum value of $10,000.


The scholarship recipient is expected, within reason, to represent the IDRL and UOW College Australia at such functions deemed appropriate to promote both organisations and the scholarship program during their scholarship tenure.

This may include attendance at a media event to announce the scholarship and appear in promotional materials, including on the IDRL and UOW College Australia websites, social media and other marketing collateral.

Previous Winners

2020 Winner: Teagan Berry, Stingrays of Shellharbour [Studying Diploma of Nursing]

In the first two years the committee was unable to split candidates, awarding two scholarships.

2019 Winners: Russell Woodard (UOWC) with winners Melissa Spero (Corrimal) and Tammy Fletcher (Corrimal).

2018 Winners: Nat Blud (Collegians/Thirroul); Matthew Thompson (Avondale)

Watch the 2019 promotional Video>>




Live Streaming Matches

Watch the latest matches live right here. Miss last week's game? Watch the replay now.

UOW College Australia Scholarship

Learn more about the annual UOWC scholarship program including, how and when to apply.

Want to play women or girls rugby league?

Attention all women and girls! It's time to get serious if you are looking to play rugby league in 2020. Learn more.

Product Spotlight

Check out these exclusive deals from our official banking partner Bendigo Bank. Win yourself a $500 voucher AND potentially $000's for your club.